This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Norway

Norway is made up of 19 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Norway. Information on all primary administrative regions in Norway.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Norway alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Norway

There are 19 regions in Norway in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Norway
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Oslo Oslo County1.629,313Oslo Oslo580,000
Hordaland Hordaland Fylke2.448,343Bergen Bergen213,585
Sor-Trondelag Sør-Trøndelag Fylke3.272,567Trondheim Trondheim147,139
Rogaland Rogaland Fylke4.393,104Stavanger Stavanger121,610
Buskerud Buskerud fylke5.253,006Drammen Drammen90,722
Vest-Agder Vest-Agder Fylke6.161,276Kristiansand Kristiansand63,814
Troms Troms Fylke7.152,741Tromso Tromsø52,436
Ostfold Østfold fylke8.258,542Sarpsborg Sarpsborg52,159
Telemark Telemark fylke9.170,643Skien Skien50,595
Vestfold Vestfold fylke10.236,424Tonsberg Tønsberg38,914
Nordland Nordland Fylke11.236,825Bodo Bodø34,073
Aust-Agder Aust-Agder fylke12.106,842Arendal Arendal30,916
Hedmark Hedmark fylke13.188,376Hamar Hamar29,479
Nord-Trondelag Nord-Trøndelag Fylke14.128,444Steinkjer Steinkjer20,000
Oppland Oppland fylke15.183,851Lillehammer Lillehammer19,096
More og Romsdal Møre og Romsdal fylke16.244,689Molde Molde18,594
Finnmark Fylke Finnmark Fylke17.73,074Vadso Vadsø5,139
Sogn og Fjordane Sogn og Fjordane Fylke18.107,032Hermansverk Hermansverk2,000
Akershus Akershus fylke19.523,272--