Regions in Norway

Norway is made up of 17 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Norway. Information on all primary administrative regions in Norway.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Norway alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Norway

There are 17 regions in Norway in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Norway
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Agder Agder1.308,843Arendal Arendal30,916
Vestland Vestland2.638,821Bergen Bergen285,911
Nordland Nordland Fylke3.240,345Bodo Bodø34,073
Viken Viken4.1,252,384Drammen Drammen103,007
Innlandet Innlandet5.371,385Hamar Hamar29,479
Vestland Vestland6.638,821Hermansverk Hermansverk2,144
Agder Agder7.308,843Kristiansand Kristiansand93,205
Innlandet Innlandet8.371,385Lillehammer Lillehammer28,425
More og Romsdal Møre og Romsdal fylke9.265,544Molde Molde31,967
Oslo Oslo County10.702,543Oslo Oslo580,000
Viken Viken11.1,252,384Sarpsborg Sarpsborg56,559
Vestfold og Telemark Vestfold og Telemark12.421,882Skien Skien50,595
Rogaland Rogaland Fylke13.482,645Stavanger Stavanger144,877
Trondelag Trøndelag14.471,124Steinkjer Steinkjer20,000
Vestfold og Telemark Vestfold og Telemark15.421,882Tonsberg Tønsberg38,914
Troms og Finnmark Troms og Finnmark16.242,168Tromso Tromsø64,448
Troms og Finnmark Troms og Finnmark17.242,168Vadso Vadsø5,064