This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Norway

Norway is made up of 19 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Norway. Information on all primary administrative regions in Norway.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Norway alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Norway

There are 19 regions in Norway in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Norway
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Oslo Oslo County1.629,313Oslo Oslo580,000
Akershus Akershus fylke2.523,272--
Hordaland Hordaland Fylke3.448,343Bergen Bergen213,585
Rogaland Rogaland Fylke4.393,104Stavanger Stavanger121,610
Sor-Trondelag Sør-Trøndelag Fylke5.272,567Trondheim Trondheim147,139
Ostfold Østfold fylke6.258,542Sarpsborg Sarpsborg52,159
Buskerud Buskerud fylke7.253,006Drammen Drammen90,722
More og Romsdal Møre og Romsdal fylke8.244,689Molde Molde18,594
Nordland Nordland Fylke9.236,825Bodo Bodø34,073
Vestfold Vestfold fylke10.236,424Tonsberg Tønsberg38,914
Hedmark Hedmark fylke11.188,376Hamar Hamar29,479
Oppland Oppland fylke12.183,851Lillehammer Lillehammer19,096
Telemark Telemark fylke13.170,643Skien Skien50,595
Vest-Agder Vest-Agder Fylke14.161,276Kristiansand Kristiansand63,814
Troms Troms Fylke15.152,741Tromso Tromsø52,436
Nord-Trondelag Nord-Trøndelag Fylke16.128,444Steinkjer Steinkjer20,000
Sogn og Fjordane Sogn og Fjordane Fylke17.107,032Hermansverk Hermansverk2,000
Aust-Agder Aust-Agder fylke18.106,842Arendal Arendal30,916
Finnmark Fylke Finnmark Fylke19.73,074Vadso Vadsø5,139