This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Norway

Norway is made up of 19 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Norway. Information on all primary administrative regions in Norway.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Norway alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Norway

There are 19 regions in Norway in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Norway
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Akershus Akershus fylke1.523,272--
Aust-Agder Aust-Agder fylke2.106,842Arendal Arendal30,916
Buskerud Buskerud fylke3.253,006Drammen Drammen90,722
Finnmark Fylke Finnmark Fylke4.73,074Vadso Vadsø5,139
Hedmark Hedmark fylke5.188,376Hamar Hamar29,479
Hordaland Hordaland Fylke6.448,343Bergen Bergen213,585
More og Romsdal Møre og Romsdal fylke7.244,689Molde Molde18,594
Nord-Trondelag Nord-Trøndelag Fylke8.128,444Steinkjer Steinkjer20,000
Nordland Nordland Fylke9.236,825Bodo Bodø34,073
Oppland Oppland fylke10.183,851Lillehammer Lillehammer19,096
Oslo Oslo County11.629,313Oslo Oslo580,000
Ostfold Østfold fylke12.258,542Sarpsborg Sarpsborg52,159
Rogaland Rogaland Fylke13.393,104Stavanger Stavanger121,610
Sogn og Fjordane Sogn og Fjordane Fylke14.107,032Hermansverk Hermansverk2,000
Sor-Trondelag Sør-Trøndelag Fylke15.272,567Trondheim Trondheim147,139
Telemark Telemark fylke16.170,643Skien Skien50,595
Troms Troms Fylke17.152,741Tromso Tromsø52,436
Vest-Agder Vest-Agder Fylke18.161,276Kristiansand Kristiansand63,814
Vestfold Vestfold fylke19.236,424Tonsberg Tønsberg38,914